Red Cross Bhawan, Madhya Marg,
Sector-16 A, Chandigarh 160016

+(91)-9216223444 +(91)-172- 2546330, 2543889

Hon’ble Governor Haryana-cum- President and Chairman

Sh. Bandaru Dattatraya

Secretary to Governor

Sh. Atul Kumar, IAS

Vice Chairman

Smt. Sushma Gupta


Donate Blood

Awards & Recognition

Right to Information (RTI)

Mr. Mr Anil Joshi Joint Secretary-cum-SPIO is the designated Public Information Officer of the Indian Red Cross Society Haryana State Branch.

State Headquarter

17 items(manuals) prescribed in clause (b) sub-section 1 of Section 4 which every public authority is required to publish within one hundred and twenty days from the enactment of this Act.



Particulars of Indian Red Cross Society organization, functions and duties.

Constituted under an Act of Indian Legislative council in 1920 it is auxiliary to the state authorities and armed forces medical services as per statutes of the Red Cross Red Crescent Movement.

When the first World War broke out in 1914, India had no machinery for organizing relief to those affected by the war, except a branch of the St. John Ambulance Association. Following the example of Britain where war relief services were being rendered by a Joint Committee of the British Red Cross, a branch of the same Committee was started to undertake the much needed relief services in collaboration with the St. John Ambulance Association in aid of the soldiers as well as civilian sufferers of the horrors of the war.

A bill to constitute the Indian Red Cross Society, Independent of the British Red Cross, was introduced in the Indian Legislative Council on 3rd March 1920 by Sir Claud Hill, member of the Viceroy's Executive Council who was also the Chairman of the Joint War Committee in India . The Bill was passed on 17th March 1920 and became Act XV of 1920 with the assent of the Governor General on the 20th March 1920 .

On the 7th June 1920 , fifty members were formally nominated to constitute the Indian Red Cross Society and the first Managing Body was elected from among them with Sir Malcolm Haily as Chairman.

Thus, the Indian Red Cross Society was born in 1920.


The State Headquarter of the Society is located at Red Cross Bhawan, Madhya Marg, Sector-16 A, Chandigarh. Recognised by the National head quarter of indian Red Cross  on 01st November 1966 , it was affiliated with the indian Red Cross Society . The Governer of  haryana is the President of the Society.


At the State level, the management of affairs of the Society rests with the Managing Body comprising of members elected by the Branch Committee, and members, including a Chairman, nominated by the President of the Society. The Managing Body elects a Vice Chairman from among themselves and appoints with the approval of the President of the Society a Treasurer and a General Secretary. The General Secretary is the Chief Executive.


There are 22 District branches in Haryana. The branches of  the society are autonomous bodies with control over their own finance though they work under the guidance of the State Headquarter on questions relating to general policies and basic principles of the Red Cross. The State Headquarter is the federal focal point among other things for the purposes of (a) the unity of the organization, (b) guidance and assistance towards promotion and expansion of services, (c) co-ordination of inter-state & national efforts; (d) dissemination and application of humanitarian laws and fundamental principles of the Red Cross.


The activities of the Indian Red Cross may be broadly grouped under the following categories:

- Relief work during floods, famine, earthquake, epidemic etc.
- Training health visitors, nurses, dais and public health education
- Cooperation with the St. John Ambulance Association in the training of men and women in First Aid, Home Nursing etc.
- Rehabilitation Center for PwD’s
- Maternity & Child Welfare
- Junior Red Cross
- Youth Red Cross
- Voluntary Blood Donation
- Other Welfare work for Community

Members of the Red Cross make the backbone of the Organisation. The Indian Red Cross Society has the following grades of members
Patron; Vice Patron; Life Member; Life Associate; Institutional Member; Annual Member; Annual Associate.
The membership subscriptions range from Rs.10/- to Rs.20,000/-.
The Society maintains close liaison with the Government of India especially the Ministries of Defence, Home and External Affairs, while the Ministry of Health is the Nodal Ministry for the Society.
Indian Red Cross Society

Governance Structure

President of the Society
[Hon'ble Governer of Haryana ]

Vice President of the Society
[Hon'ble Chief Minister, Haryana]

Managing Body

(30 members)
22 Presidents of  District Red Cross Branches in Haryana
8 nominated by the Honorable President 

Honorary Legal Advisor
(To advice render legal assistance and make representations on behalf

Honorary Treasurer
(Appointed by Managing Body with the previous approval of the Honorable President)

General Secretary
Chief Executive
(Link between Governance & Management)

Employee List
Regular staff strength as on 01/03/2017 | Contractual staff strength as on 01/03/2017

1.The budget allocated to the Society, plans, expenditures, disbursements made etc.
    Budget is approved by Statutory Committees.
2. Execution of subsidy programmes, including the amounts allocated and details of beneficiaries of such programmes.
    As per budget. (Summary of budget for 2016-17 & budget proposal 2017-18)
3. Particulars of recipients of concessions, permits or authorizations granted by the Society.
    Not applicable.
4. Information held by the Society in the electronic form
     All the details are available at the website.
5. The names, designations and other particulars of the Public Information Officer.
    Mr. .................., ...................., Ph. No.0172- 2546330, 2543889(O).
6. Such other information as may be prescribed.
    Annual Report for the year 2016-17.      
People requesting for information/documents under RTI to deposit the fees in favour of "Indian Red Cross Society" Haryana State Branch







Hon'ble chief Minister-cum- Vice President

Sh. Manohar Lal Khattar

General Secretary

Donate Blood

Sh. D.R.Sharma

One Day Training

One Day Training

Donate Blood

Donate Blood

Blood Request

Donate Blood